Art and Media Studies

 

The department of Art and Media Studies at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne brings together disciplines, perspectives, methods, research and ‘thinking practises’ that cannot be found in this kind of constellation at classic art schools:

Professors of media | culture | gender, art history in the context of media, music / sound / noise, experimental computer science, aesthetics, theory and design of hypermedia. These various orientations are united by an analytical-theoretical questioning of the arts and media together with conjecture in terms of its historical (diachronic) and structural (synchronic) contexts. 

Teaching and research in this department is at university standard, situated next to and in continual collaboration in artistic and design project developments at the academy. It nurtures numerous relationships to universities and non-university research institutions.

Alongside teaching and research, the department organises symposiums and lecture series as well as editing publications.

The department of Art and Media Studies at the KHM is strongly influenced by its position within an art school. The advanced forms of art that are represented at this academy are themselves already examinations of media, material etc. In harmony with this impulse, the department of Art and Media Studies is concerned with focused examinations of theoretical and historical points, the discursive conditions and social contexts of a media-supported self-criticism of the arts as well as an expanded, dynamic contemplation, interconnected with new themes, of its foundations and prospects.

 

Assistant
Maren Mildner
Peter-Welter-Platz 2
50676 Köln
Phone: +49 (0)221 - 20189 - 123
Fax: +49 (0)221 - 20189 - 49 - 123
email: maren@khm.de

Offener Schaltkreis_Christoph Haag, Martin Rumori, Franziska Windisch, Ludwig Zeller, 2006

Wissenschaft

 

Der Bereich Wissenschaft an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln versammelt Disziplinen, Perspektiven, Methoden, Forschungen und 'denkende Praktiken', die in dieser Konstellation an keiner klassischen Kunstakademie zu finden sind: 

Professuren für Medien | Kultur | GenderKunstgeschichte im medialen Kontext, Musik / Klang / Geräusch Experimentelle Informatik, Ästhetik, Theorie und Design der Hypermedien. Was die verschiedenen Ausrichtungen vereint, ist ein analytisch-wissenschaftliches Befragen von Künsten, Medien mitsamt ihren vielfältigen Theoretisierungen in historischen (diachronen) und strukturellen (synchronen) Verbindungen. 

Der Bereich ist in Lehre und Forschung auf universitärem Niveau angesiedelt, in der kontinuierlichen Mitarbeit in künstlerisch-gestalterischen Projektentwicklungen der Akademie benachbart. Er pflegt vielfältige Beziehungen zu universitären wie außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen. Neben Lehre und Forschung werden Symposien und Vortragsreihen sowie die Herausgabe von Publikationen organisiert.

Der Bereich Wissenschaft an der KHM ist also durch seine Stellung innerhalb einer Kunsthochschule geprägt. Die avancierten Formen der Kunst, die an dieser Hochschule vertreten werden, sind ihrerseits schon Befragungen des Medialen, des Materiellen usw. In Solidarität mit diesem Impuls künstlerischer Arbeit selbst, geht es im Bereich Wissenschaft um theoretische und historische Vertiefungen, um diskursive Vorraussetzungen und gesellschaftliche Kontexte einer medial gestützten Selbstkritik der Künste sowie ein erweitertes, dynamisch sich mit neuen Thematisierungen vernetzendes Nachdenken über deren Grundlagen und Aussichten.

 

Bereichsassistenz
Heidrun Hertell
Filzengraben 8-10
2. OG, Raum 202
Tel.: +49 (0)221 - 20189 - 130
Mail: wissenschaft@khm.de

Offener Schaltkreis_Christoph Haag, Martin Rumori, Franziska Windisch, Ludwig Zeller, 2006